Skip to main content

Recent News

Hendricks County Community Foundation Announces 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

The Hendricks County Community Foundation is excited to announce the recipients of the 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship: Nicolas Jones, Cascade High School; Michael Oliver, Danville High School; and Hannah Schafer, Avon High School These seniors will receive full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. They were awarded this prestigious scholarship based on significant community service, outstanding academic achievement and leadership skills.

The Hendricks County Community Foundation received over 200 scholarship applications from Hendricks County students. After the applications were reviewed, eleven students were chosen to be interviewed. Finalists included:

Megan Griffith, Tri-West High School
Kiersten Martin, Plainfield High School
Jessica McDugle, Danville High School
Anunita Nattam, Plainfield High School
Molly Shoemaker, Brownsburg High School
Andrew Skinner, Tri-West High School
Logan Walliser, Danville High School
Jillian Zurcher, Tri-West High School

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.